Guitar Project UK
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  Main Site  

tapped humbuckers

Go down 
3 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
darren

tapped humbuckers Empty
PostSubject: tapped humbuckers   tapped humbuckers EmptySun Feb 14, 2010 11:35 am

hi folks. ive got a problem. ive got an unbranded semi acoustic that im trying to do up. ive bought a pair of coil tapped humbuckers to go in it, each with its own seperate tap switch ( not the pot type) and id like any help with how to wire it all together. the pickups have 4 wires, a thick black one (earth i presume) , a thin black one (signal?) and a red wire and a white wire soldered together. i have 2 spdt switches that i need to fit into the body too. how do i ground the bridge, ive seen that mentioned somewhere. can someone please tell me how to wire this lot together. im a total noob at guitar wiring but have always fancied having a try. im replacing all the electrics in it,switches, p/up selector, pots, everything! the body is not too bad but the hardware on it was cr*p, hence the rewire. any assistance will be very gratefully accepted. many thanks. darren
Back to top Go down
Admin
Admin
Admin

tapped humbuckers Empty
PostSubject: Re: tapped humbuckers   tapped humbuckers EmptySun Feb 14, 2010 12:19 pm

To coil tap you'll need a DPDT for each humbucker, Wiring up isn't too difficult, what brand are your pickups? most companies like changing their wiring colours to suit themselves.

Grounding to the bridge is just the main ground wire from the electrics being soldered to the underside of the bridge, done properly and it'll stop your guitar humming everytime you touch something metal.

If you let me know what p/up switch your using, how many tone & volume pots etc i can knock up a simple wiring diagram for you.